Ryan McGillivray – Ready For Collision Course

By: Mike Thorwart

MFC 33 is just right around the bend and in the main event we will see Nathan Coy (10-4 MMA, 1-0 MFC) and Ryan McGillivray (12-5-1 MMA, 8-3 MFC) for the MFC welterweight title.

McGillivray is coming off of a 3rd round submission victory over Diego Baustista at MFC 32 which took place in January of this year. Prior to Baustista meeting McGillivray, he was unbeaten at 7-0.

McGillivray’s return to the MFC in January was his first fight with the promotion since December 5th, 2008 where he submitted Elliot Duff at MFC 19. Since that fight, (not including his most recent) McGillivray has gone 4-2-1 with a notable appearance against the UFC’s Shamar Bailey. McGillivray was defeated by Bailey via decision. However, McGillivray made a huge statement in his return by defeating the undefeated Diego Baustista.

In a recent video released by the MFC titled Ryan The Kid McGillivray V-Blog MFC 33 in reference to training with his father, McGillivray stated “It’s a nice feeling knowing your coach is 150% behind you.” You can view the entire video by clicking here.

The bout headlines the Collision Course card airing live from the Mayfield Conference Centre in Edmonton, Alberta, on HDNet Fights. The six-bout main card begins at 10 p.m. ET/8 p.m. MT/7 p.m. PT (check local listings for channel designation).

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *